Seven Divisions. One Team.

The New Hampshire Department of Safety is one of the largest departments of state government, with more than 2,200 full-time, part-time, non-classified, and seasonal employees functioning in both uniformed and civilian capacities throughout the state.

The Department affects the lives of all New Hampshire residents and visitors by enforcing criminal, motor vehicle and boating laws, and providing for fire safety, fire and emergency medical training, emergency communications and disaster planning.

Established by the New Hampshire General Court in 1961, the Department presently consists of seven divisions overseen by the Office of the Commissioner.



Accounting, Purchasing, and Budget Control; Personnel Management; Property, Contracts, and Grants Management; Road Toll Bureau

Emergency Services and Communications

Public Safety Answering Point (911); AED Registration; Communications Maintenance; GIS Mapping

Fire Safety (State Fire Marshal)

Fire Investigations; Building Safety & Construction; Tramway & Amusement Ride Safety; Licensing for fireworks operators & retail stores

Fire Standards and Training & Emergency Medical Services

Bureau of Fire Training & Administration (Fire Academy); Bureau of Emergency Medical Services (Training, Testing and Licensing of EMS Providers)

Homeland Security and Emergency Management

Emergency Planning/State Emergency Operations Plan; Hazard Mitigation; Radiological Preparedness; School Readiness Program; See Something, Say Something Campaign

Motor Vehicles

Driver Education/Licensing; Vehicle/Boat Registration; Titles; Inspections & Emissions; Motorcycle Rider Training; Suspensions/Tickets/Driving Records

State Police

Criminal Records; Marine Patrol/Boater Education; Forensic Laboratory; Field Operations Bureau (Uniform Patrol); Investigative Services Bureau; Justice Information Bureau