How Can We Help You Today?


The Department of Safety is the second largest department of state government, with more than 2,200 full-time, part-time, non-classified, and seasonal employees functioning in both uniformed and civilian capacities throughout the State.

The Department regularly partners with local, state, and federal agencies to protect the lives of all New Hampshire residents and visitors. We are tasked with enforcing criminal, motor vehicle and boating laws, and providing for fire safety, fire and emergency medical training, emergency communications and disaster planning.

Established by the New Hampshire General Court in 1961, the Department consists of 7 divisions: Administration, Motor Vehicles, State Police, Homeland Security and Emergency Management, Emergency Services and Communications, Fire Standards and Training & Emergency Medical Services, and Fire Safety.

Our Mission: To continually enhance the safety, security and quality of life in New Hampshire through professional, collaborative and innovative service to all.

Our Vision: To make New Hampshire the safest state in the Nation with the highest quality of life for all.